69 Comments
Apr 14, 2020Liked by Wade Shepard

Is good idea here but need moderation and throw off the idiot trolls trying ruin everything and make sensible opinion leave away from here. Is very annoying. Please do somethings. I want learn not read trolls.

Expand full comment

Hi Wade, do you mind if I contribute with some answers to some of the business questions? - Chris

Expand full comment
(Banned)Apr 11, 2020Liked by Wade Shepard

Not so much a question, but part of my motivation is that I've made 20%+ on investments in my worst years, 67% in my best. Forbes is an excellent resource. But far more valuable in my investment strategies has been studying the climate of the world through objective researchers such as yourself. 2020 won't be my best year investing (as I didn't buy stock in toilet paper manufacturers), but I dumped all energy investments before they tanked. I'm vested heavily now in technology, with China-based companies leaving me guessing.

Expand full comment
(Banned)Apr 11, 2020Liked by Wade Shepard

I have three questions:

1) What is currently transported on the Silk Road, in addition to people? I suppose this question really predates (and includes) the current situation. If too broad a question, maybe I should ask what is predominantly transported along the route before and during this time? Please keep in mind I'm still new to the subject.

2) Given COVID 19 has taken center stage (even in Russia, where friends on the ground tell me the real story), are you still travelling or are you taking a short break to see how things go? (Why do I expect your answer is effectively, full speed ahead?)

3) Lastly, given the historic Silk Road and the maps that show it moving like a meandering stream, do you see any part of the current route as especially vulnerable to "pirates" and such? I've read a bit on early American history, and there was definitely a shift over time in the tragic slave, sugar, and rum trade through what seemed mostly centered through Charleston, South Carolina (1700's, long after the Silk Road became infamous). "Pirates" (i.e. thieves) seem to always disrupt economic trade.

Thank you for the insights on referring to yourself as an author rather than a journalist. Sebastian's question is a good one. I totally agree, you are an author. The negative connotation on the term "journalists" has been unfortunate and (fortunately) doesn't seem to fit you at all.

Expand full comment

Kazakhstan sent a note of protest to China. Sorry for the link on Russian: https://tengrinews.kz/news/kazahstan-napravil-notu-protesta-kitayu-398653/ What do you think about this?

Expand full comment

On the CPEC part of BRI in Pakistan.

Do you think given the current state of economy of Pakistan, and the tightening of screws by IMF as to where Pakistan spends its monies, the projects under CPEC will fructify in the near future?

Also, Pakistan's government and its military have forced a silence in the country on the detention of Uighurs in Xinijiang. But isn't it a matter of time before hyper Islamized people in Pakistan take to the streets against China? Wonder how the hyper-sensitive China may react then.

Expand full comment

Good day, Wade! I live in Russia and the new silk road is as far away for me as Japan. However, Japan is the only country to which I have an interest, and as far as I know, one of the routs of the New Silk Road begins in Japan. Am I right? If so, what will be the role of Japan in this?

Expand full comment

Who took that picture

Expand full comment

What is some advice to new travelers that plan of traveling through Silk Road, China, and other Asian countries?

Expand full comment

If the BRI and its efforts are flawing, which player's project could overtake its role?

Expand full comment

How do you manage to travel through all the authoritarian systems along the Silk Road as a journalist trying to investigate not only the "easy" pleasing questions but the ones which put the very „New Silk Road“ paths of those regimes into question?

Expand full comment

What's going to be the impact of the China origin of the Corona virus on the BRI? Will we see a push back from any country? Will they begin to see the danger in being vassal states to China?

Expand full comment
deletedApr 11, 2020Liked by Wade Shepard
Comment deleted
Expand full comment